Skipper Hans Andersen weighed in with a splendid four ride paid maximum as the Volvo Cars Poole Pirates overcame an early set-back to keep their play-off hopes alive.

When Brady Kurtz and Jack Holder saw a potential 5-1 scuppered after Holder found himself struggling for control in the opening heat, the Pirates could have been forgiven for thinking that this was going to be another hard slog. But a speedy Timo Lahti and a round the shoulder pass by James Shanes set the Pirates on their way and by the time all the riders had been on track at least once there was a 10 point advantage in Poole's favour.
King's Lynn chose their heat one winner Thomas Jorgensen to go for double points but it was his partner Robert Lambert who was the quicker of the two this time around and Jorgensen had to contend with Lahti and Kennett nipping at his heels. The eventual outcome was a 7-1 in favour of the visitors but Lahti and Andersen soon made some amends next time out to restore a double figure lead, 27-17.
Heat 8 saw the first shared race of the night, Holder clear out front and Shanes dropping his first points of the meeting after featuring in two previous 5-1's. The vistors provided the race winners in the next two but Poole ensured no deviation in the score differential until Andersen and Lahti again paired up to claim maximum points. There was good work again by Shanes as he fended off Michael Palm-Toft for a point as Josh Auty won heat 12 but then Poole turned on the style with 5-1 scores all the way to the close.

Poole 59
B. Kurtz 2,3,2,3,3=13
J. Holder 0,1,3,1',2=7+1
R. Replacement =0
E. Kennett 2',0,2,3=7+1
H. Andersen 3,2',2',2',2'=11+4
T. Lahti 3,3,1,3,1',3,2'=16+2
J. Shanes 2',2',0,1'=5+3

King's Lynn 33
R. Lambert 1,3,1,0=5
T. Jorgensen 3,4',1',0,1=9+2
M. Palm-Toft 0,1,3,0,1=5
R. Replacement =0
T. Jonasson 0,2,3,0,1,0=6
J. Auty 1,1,0,2,0,3=7
T. Aarnio 0,1,0,0=1

Ht 1 T. Jorgensen B. Kurtz R. Lambert J. Holder 2-4 (2-4) (60)
Ht 2 T. Lahti J. Shanes J. Auty T. Aarnio 5-1 (7-5) (59.56)
Ht 3 T. Lahti E. Kennett J. Auty M. Palm-Toft 5-1 (12-6) (59.84)
Ht 4 H. Andersen J. Shanes T. Aarnio T. Jonasson 5-1 (17-7) (61.58)
Ht 5 R. Lambert T. Jorgensen (TR) T. Lahti E. Kennett 1-7 (18-14) (60.88)
Ht 6 B. Kurtz T. Jonasson J. Holder J. Auty 4-2 (22-16) (60.69)
Ht 7 T. Lahti H. Andersen M. Palm-Toft T. Aarnio 5-1 (27-17) (60.16)
Ht 8 J. Holder J. Auty T. Jorgensen J. Shanes 3-3 (30-20) (60.75)
Ht 9 T. Jonasson E. Kennett T. Lahti J. Auty 3-3 (33-23) (61.22)
Ht 10 M. Palm-Toft B. Kurtz J. Holder T. Jonasson 3-3 (36-26) (61.15)
Ht 11 T. Lahti H. Andersen R. Lambert T. Jorgensen 5-1 (41-27) (60..65)
Ht 12 J. Auty J. Holder J. Shanes M. Palm-Toft 3-3 (44-30) (61.43)
Ht 13 B. Kurtz H. Andersen T. Jonasson R. Lambert 5-1 (49-31) (61.49)
Ht 14 E. Kennett T. Lahti M. Palm-Toft(tapes  hcap) T. Aarnio 5-1 (54-32) (61.34)
Ht 15 B. Kurtz H. Andersen T. Jorgensen T. Jonasson 5-1 (59-33) (61.35)

Referee Mr Graham Reeve
Gates: Poole won toss and chose gates 1&3 in heat 1. King's Lynn took gates 1&3 in heat 15
Poole 3 league points King's Lynn 0 league points
Rider of the Night Hans Andersen


Latest news Read all news



The Poole 'Wessex Marine' Pirates are keen to maintain their positive start to the SGB Cab Direct Championship when they travel to Oxford o...



The cream of third tier British Speedway will be heading to Wimborne Road on Wednesday June 26th, with Poole Speedway proudly hosting the National ...



Tom Brennan has confirmed himself as this season's British GP wild card when the prestigious event takes place at the Principality Stadium, Car...

Pirates Track shop

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.