Poole lost their claim as cup holders after a quarter final aggregate defeat at the hands of a solid Belle Vue Aces outfit.

Nursing just a two-point advantage from the home leg the Volvo Cars Poole Pirates could ill-afford the  early onslaught by the Aces.

Despite an opening race win from Krzysztof Kasprzak - his first of the tie - the visitors were soon facing a double figure deficit amidst some intense racing on the National Stadium circuit. Hans Andersen was the victim of a huge barge by reserve Jack Smith in heat 4 but then produced an emphatic victory two heats later which Nicolai Klindt converted into a heat advantage with a tenacious ride over Steve Worrall. This was after a brilliant cat and mouse chase in heat 5 between Kasprzak and Sedgmen which the home rider was to win to support Kenneth Bjerre's race victory.

A photo finish decision for second and third in heat 7 went the way of Bewley over Brady Kurtz and Poole were left 14 points adrift on aggregate. Hopes of an unexpected 5-1 faded when Worrall's late overtakeovertake relegated Shanes to third, Holder winning the 8th.

Heat 10 was edge of the seat stuff with three riders abreast down the straight eventually concluding with Worrall finding the extra pace to defeat Kurtz and Klindt.

Craig Cook capitalised on a hesitant Kasprzak in heat 11, the Poole number one more mindful of Holder on his outside than the kerb-hugging Cook.

Two-on-the-trot Holder had to be patient, determined and strong in heat 12 to deny Smith a point and maintain a string of four shared heats but a heat 13 maximum with Fricke producing his best effort of the contest cemented the Aces place in the semi-finals.

Belle Vue finished the Pirates off with two more heat advantages a 4-2 followed by a 5-1 and whilst this may not have been Poole's finest hour it wasn't for want of trying.

Belle Vue 57
M. Fricke 1',2,0,2'=5+2
S. Worrall 2,0,2,3=7
K. Bjerre 3,3,2,3,2'=13+1
J. Sedgmen 2',2',1',1=6+3
C. Cook 3,3,3,3,3=15
D. Bewley 3,2',0,3=8+1
J. Smith 1,2',0,0=3+1
Poole 33
K. Kasprzak 3,1,2,0,1=7
J. Holder 0,0,3,1',1'=5+2
R. Replacement =0
B. Kurtz 1,1,2,2=6
H. Andersen 1,3,3,1,0=8
N. Klindt 2,0,1,0,0,1',2=6+1
J. Shanes 0,0,1,R=1

Ht 1 K. Kasprzak S. Worrall M. Fricke J. Holder 3-3 (3-3) (60.5)
Ht 2 D. Bewley N. Klindt J. Smith J. Shanes 4-2 (7-5) (60.2)
Ht 3 K. Bjerre J. Sedgmen B. Kurtz N. Klindt 5-1 (12-6) (60)
Ht 4 C. Cook J. Smith H. Andersen J. Shanes 5-1 (17-7) (60.2)
Ht 5 K. Bjerre J. Sedgmen K. Kasprzak J. Holder 5-1 (22-8) (60.1)
Ht 6 H. Andersen M. Fricke N. Klindt S. Worrall 2-4 (24-12) (60.1)
Ht 7 C. Cook D. Bewley B. Kurtz N. Klindt 5-1 (29-13) (60.1)
Ht 8 J. Holder S. Worrall J. Shanes J. Smith 2-4 (31-17) (60.2)
Ht 9 H. Andersen K. Bjerre J. Sedgmen N. Klindt 3-3 (34-20) (60.2)
Ht 10 S. Worrall B. Kurtz N. Klindt M. Fricke 3-3 (37-23) (60.2)
Ht 11 C. Cook K. Kasprzak J. Holder D. Bewley 3-3 (40-26) (60.3)
Ht 12 K. Bjerre N. Klindt J. Holder J. Smith 3-3 (43-29) (60.2)
Ht 13 C. Cook M. Fricke H. Andersen K. Kasprzak 5-1 (48-30) (60.2)
Ht 14 D. Bewley B. Kurtz J. Sedgmen J. Shanes (Rtd) 4-2 (52-32) (60.3)
Ht 15 C. Cook K. Bjerre K. Kasprzak H. Andersen 5-1 (57-33) (60.3)

Referee Graham Flint
Gates: Poole won toss and took 1&3. Belle Vue 2&4 in heat 15
Belle Vue win 101-79 on aggregate
Rider of the Night: Hans Andersen



Latest news Read all news



Northern team manager Gary Havelock oversaw a 'Goldilocks' performance from the Poole Pirates on Friday night as they raided the Redcar Bea...



Poole reserve Drew Kemp was reasonably happy with his night's work as the Poole Pirates put the new track dressing through its paces, retaining...



Poole skipper Danny King admitted he "mis-gauged" the Wimborne Road track after his pre-meeting track walk and had to desperately change ...

Pirates Track shop

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.