A spate of misfortune early on saw the Pirates concede too much ground to form side Swindon as they slumped to their third successive home league defeat.

It is the first time since 2005 that Poole have lost three home league fixtures on the bounce but too many last places were the undoing for the inconsistent Pirates.

A heat three first bend tangle between Richie Worrall and Jack Holder, from which both were fortunate to escape unscathed,  forced Worrall to switch to a Paul Starke-loaned mount for the re-run but the Poole duo couldn’t make in-roads once an attempt at a synchronised pass on Bellego was defended by the Frenchman.

More misery for Poole in heat 4 as skipper Hans Andersen pulled up around the first arc but a shining beam was the efforts of young James Shanes who defiantly held off Nick Morris to record his second outright race win of his Poole career.

Poole were blessed with their second race winner when under-fire Kasprzak took the honours in heat 6, although the heat was shared, as too was the seventh when the tactical ride for skipper Andersen was countered by a winning outing from Bellego. Andersen was to be the only other home rider to record a race victory when he superbly saw off his counterpart captain Jason Doyle.

The story of the night was essentially that Pirates could not get two riders scoring in the same heat and consequently were unable to try and eat away the deficit. Rarely have a home team failed to register a home heat advantage which underlines the magnitude of this inept performance, whilst taking nothing away from Swindon's solid all-round display

Poole 36
K. Kasprzak 0,3,0,0=3
T. Lahti 2,0,0,3=5
J. Holder 0,2,1',2,0=5+1
R. Worrall 1,0,2,1'=4+1
H. Andersen R,4,2,3,1=10
P. Starke 2,0,0,2=4
J. Shanes 0,3,2,0=5

J. Doyle 1,3,3,2=9
T. Musielak 3,1,3,1=8
B. Wilson-Dean 3,1,1',1=6+1
D. Bellego 2',3,2,3,3=13+1
N. Morris 2,2,3,1',2'=10+2
A. Ellis 3,1',0,3=7+1
Z. Wajtknecht 1,1',1,0=3+1

Ht 1 T. Musielak T. Lahti J. Doyle K. Kasprzak 2-4 (2-4) (60.93)
Ht 2 A. Ellis P. Starke Z. Wajtknecht J. Shanes 2-4 (4-8) (59.94)
Ht 3 B. Wilson-Dean D. Bellego R. Worrall J. Holder 1-5 (5-13) (61.71)
Ht 4 J. Shanes N. Morris Z. Wajtknecht H. Andersen (Rtd) 3-3 (8-16) (61.56)
Ht 5 J. Doyle J. Holder T. Musielak R. Worrall 2-4 (10-20) (60.97)
Ht 6 K. Kasprzak N. Morris A. Ellis T. Lahti 3-3 (13-23) (61.13)
Ht 7 D. Bellego H. Andersen (TR) B. Wilson-Dean P. Starke 4-4 (17-27) (61.57)
Ht 8 T. Musielak J. Shanes Z. Wajtknecht T. Lahti 2-4 (19-31) (61.62)
Ht 9 N. Morris R. Worrall J. Holder A. Ellis 3-3 (22-34) (61.57)
Ht 10 T. Lahti D. Bellego B. Wilson-Dean K. Kasprzak 3-3 (25-37) (61.4)
Ht 11 J. Doyle H. Andersen T. Musielak P. Starke 2-4 (27-41) (60.68)
Ht 12 A. Ellis J. Holder B. Wilson-Dean J. Shanes 2-4 (29-45) (60.97)
Ht 13 H. Andersen J. Doyle N. Morris K. Kasprzak 3-3 (32-48) (61.22)
Ht 14 D. Bellego P. Starke R. Worrall Z. Wajtknecht 3-3 (35-51) (61.03)
Ht 15 D. Bellego N. Morris H. Andersen J. Holder 1-5 (36-56) (62.13)

Referee R.Allan
Gates: Poole won toss and deferred choice of gates and SWINDON chose 1&3 in heat 1. Poole on 1&3
Rider of the Night: James Shanes


Latest news Read all news


It Happened This Week - 2008

16th August 2008 former Pirate Leigh Adams competed in his 100th GP round.


Preview: Poole v Ipswich

Co-promoter Danny Ford believes Ipswich are one of the biggest threats to the Pirates’ SGB Premiership title defence.  


It Happened This Week in 1974

On 7th August 1974 Neil Middleditch made his first appearance for Poole.

Pirates Track shop

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.